Moab… the town of red rocks, rainbows and all things nice.

12248146_701749995318_3923418998573782889_o

I first arrived in Utah from Massachusetts to serve with the Utah Conservation Corps. Our crew was based out of Cedar City where we called a creek bed and our tents home sweet home. Knowing that the trail season was short about a month in I began to search for what was next. I sat at the library perusing natural building internships in Utah and Community Rebuilds was the first one that google displayed. I no sooner sent an email expressing my desire to come work with the earth and build; inquiring if there were programs that started as late as November. And it was no sooner explained to me that the program will be over come November and to try for the next season.
The crew and I were off that week to Arches National Park, a place that I have driven through before but had not really landed. We were camped there for a week, a hot week, picking lots of thistle and slowly becoming dehydrated.
That week there was one of the most powerful thunderstorms that I have heard. The way that thunder bounces off the canyon walls out here is incredible, nearly psychedelic, for it sounds as if the echo carries on and carries on. It is hard to distinguish the punctuation of when it starts and when it stops.
I would walk every evening after work the same path and it began to feel more and more like home, a place where I could be easeful. A place where I felt so supported leaning against the massive rocks. A place to write poetry and think about just what it would be like if these rocks we’re still under water. And that question can prompt a lot of answers and leave a mind wondering.
I worked with a fella that week that happened to talk about Community Rebuilds and mentioned how cool of a program it was. Previous interns had built his house. It felt quite serendipitous to me. I checked my email later that evening and had an email from Rikki expressing that a spot opened up if I could arrive in about a month.
I said I could be there in 2 days. I did what needed to be done, packed my bags, and ended up at the Lazy Lizard Hostel to re-group, ground, and start a new part of the journey.
I walked around town those two days to try to gain a sense of the place and find my niche within it. It was quite easy. Magic seemed to happen around each bend and with each interaction. And it has continued in such a way.
Moab is really cool. There are lots of tourists, yes, for good reasons. The landscape is absolutely amazing, breath-taking. And hiking spots are so close by. From the CR house one can walk about 10 minutes to get to Mill Creek. This spot is one that I have spent nights camping, and if you so choose you could wonder for hours – and some say even make it to the La Sal mountain range.
Mountains as a backdrop to red rocks. And when the sun rises to hit those snow covered sal’s the pink that is displayed is priceless. And when the sun sets behind the red rocks while vultures soar it is priceless. When the fly of ravens display ever-changing shadows against the walls it is priceless. And when you meet your future roommate randomly looking for a job at a coffee shop that is priceless.
Yes, Moab, Yes.
Come to find out for yourself.

Julie McAdamFall 2015 Intern

Leave a Reply

